bordeaux

Bright and early on Sunday morning, our class took the TGV (train à grande vitesse, or high-speed train) to Bordeaux. Even though we were visiting the city, I still pictured a wine country filled with luscious trees and rolling hills. Turns out, those green geographical features are very much in (yes, you guessed it) the country. The city of Bordeaux, first inhabited by the Neanderthal 30,000-20,000 years ago, is actually an historical port. Its inland streets are old and dense, while its riverfront is commercial and open. I had a wonderful time strolling among the locals in the warm sun. (I even got a slight burn on the back of my neck! Who would have thought?)

My absolute favorite part of the trip was our visit to the Musée d’art contemporain de Bordeaux (the Bordeaux Museum of Contemporary Art). Formerly a warehouse, the cathedral-like space had been partially cleansed and modestly refitted in 1984 with removable white partitions. It was one of the most beautiful places I had seen in my entire life, and it only reaffirmed my aspirations to become a renovation architect.

My family is going through a difficult time right now, so I feel I should keep my frivolous vacation descriptions to a minimum. Perhaps I will publish the rest of my photographs at a later date.

One thought on “bordeaux

Leave a Reply

