music mix the bourgeoisie and the rebel

I don’t know if this is true for all Colombians, all Bogotanos, or even all residents of Chapinero, but it is most definitely true for our roommates and for those who frequent the gay club below our apartment: they love music.

Our male roommate Juan listens to a lot of Bob Marley and burns a lot of incense. Our female roommate Luz listens to a healthy mix of Colombian and American music, but she especially likes one or the other mixed with the background murmur of a telenovela. As for the patrons of our local gay club, Brokeback Mountain (!), they prefer the beats of pop queens and princesses such as Madonna (obviously), Britney, Beyoncé, Rihanna, Katy Perry, and Lady Gaga, as well as the occasional eighties’ jam. (“Nothing Compares 2 U,” anyone?) Not to mention, the only time of day when music is NOT playing is the early morning. 3 a.m.-7 a.m. That’s it. For a light sleeper like me, their combined schedules are kind of a nightmare. I expect to wake up most mornings wondering why I have “Careless Whisper” stuck in my head. Again.

The activity isn’t all bad, though. I like listening to Colombian music, as it helps me practice my Spanish listening skills. And I love having a big window, so I can watch the hustle and bustle of clubgoers on the street below. Together, these things make this foreign gringa feel more at home.

[photo courtesy of Gig Harmon]

Leave a Reply

