work, work, work

Since I returned to Bogotá in January, I feel like all I’ve done is work. With the exception of a couple of enjoyable outings, I have spent the majority of my nights and weekends cooped up inside, editing photos and writing essays. My office work has been less than inspiring as of late; our two best projects—an historic library and a university auditorium—are in limbo, which leaves me working on the construction details for a series of coffee shops. I decided a long time ago that I would not become complacent about my career, so I have been using my free time to flex my creative muscles. For the past three weeks, I have been working on a project that I hope to submit to the American Institute of Architects’ Spring 2013 Forward Journal. My entry may or may not be selected, but it at least gives me a structured opportunity to write about the built environment. After Friday’s deadline I will consider publishing my essay to the blog, just in case anyone wants to read it.

auditorium rendering 1

The last competition my office participated in was for a small university auditorium. Sited less than ten blocks from Seth’s and my apartment, the auditorium was meant to be a flexible gathering space for both visitors and students of the university. While my bosses and some of the more experienced young architects took charge of the design, I compiled case studies and researched code requirements. It might sound like I got the short end of the stick, but I really enjoyed helping with the investigative aspects of the project. Plus, I got to do architecture—not interiors, real architecture! Unfortunately, it seems that the university has yet to decide which office’s submission they want to pursue. (Never  mind that they only gave us two weeks to design the thing, yet they have taken over seven weeks to pour over the options.) In the meantime, I thought I would post some of our renderings. There’s no telling when we will get the chance to compete for another project like this, but I hope it will be sooner rather than later.

rendering2

9 thoughts on “work, work, work

  1. Carrie the auditorium is just a rendering? beautiful. am thinking about what sound might do off the varied surfaces of the walls. – or is this an illusion with paint? if not what is the surface?

    • It reminded me of an auditorium on the UT campus.- was brand new when I was close to graduating. I was jogging my memory about acoustics and was thinking that hall was made of wood on its walls. Love the look of the angular texture. Quite impressive with only 2 weeks to prepare. Our new bathroom with its tile is very reverberating. Probably fun to sing in the shower- we shall see…wonder what metal would do to the sound?

  2. Pingback: the kitchen chronicles | a clear glimmer

  3. Pingback: eje cafetero: day 1 | a clear glimmer

Leave a Reply

