ginebra howard: a failed experiment

I bought and drank Colombia-made gin.

Why did I do it? It was available, and it was affordable. Compared to the imported gins at our neighborhood Carulla, the Colombian bottle cost about COP$30,000 (US$15.00) less. That, coupled with my tendency to experiment, pushed my sense of reason over the edge.

What did it taste like? It tasted like vodka that had been flavored with a thick and sweet imitation juniper berry extract.

What did I do with it? When Seth and I first brought home our find, we made basil gimlets heavy on the lime. The acidic concoction adequately masked the syrupy texture of the so-called gin. In future trials, we mixed the “gin” with fresh passionfruit juice. That proved to be too sweet of a combination for me to stomach.

I must be exaggerating, right? Absolutely not. All things considered, Ginebra Howard is probably the single most unpleasant spirit I have ever consumed. Seth insists that it is no worse than Taaka, but I humbly disagree.

So, what now? After a particularly stressful Wednesday at the office, I came home to a surprise bottle of contraband rum. The first sip was oh-so-smooth and oh-so-delicious, I think it will prevent me from ever again purchasing Colombian spirits. (And yes, that does include the domestic brandy, which, I am ashamed to say, has tempted my wallet on more than one occasion.)

Leave a Reply

